Category Archives: Desktop Support

UITS Staff Recognitions for the CSU Faculty & Staff Award Ceremony

Staff members of the UITS Department won multiple awards at the CSU Faculty and Staff Award Ceremony. The UITS Department would like to recognize and congratulate the outstanding work of the individuals who won awards at the ceremony.

Staff Award for Innovation – MyCSU

Neil Tirado, Bryce Jackson, William Fowler, Rick Tew, Nicholas Dick, Robert Gordy

MyCSU Portal went live January 1, 2017 after 2 years of design and focus groups feedback.  MyCSU has easier access to information and important notifications.  MyCSU was implemented with a new single sign-on system called OneCSU.  CSU is saving $30,000 a year with a new licensing structure that replaced the old previous portal.

Staff Award for Innovation – Ellucian Workflow

Nicholas Dick, Keith Grier

This team worked on the Change of Major Workflow that reduced the time it took students to change their major from 2 weeks to 3 days on average.

They also created the Graduate Admissions Workflow that route the forms digitally to program coordinators and directors that has dramatically cut down the time of acceptance or denial time for graduate admissions.

Staff Award for Innovation – Business Intelligence Dashboards

Stanley Jones, Adrian Wade, Richard Pike

The Executive Dashboard was developed to be used by Dr. Markwood and other executives to measure key performance metrics for enrollment and recruiting.  The data can identify trends and executives can make data driven decisions to help increase enrollment at CSU.

The Classroom Demographic Dashboard helps faculty identify student demographic background. This is helpful to faculty so they can tailor their instruction based on this data driven approach to potentially lead to higher retention rates.

The Financial Dashboard was developed with the assistance of the Office of Business and Finance.  The dashboard empowers leaders by giving them accurate and clear data about their budgets.  This data enables them to make informed budgetary decisions to support the goals of CSU.

Staff Award for Collaboration – ePro Implementation

Barbara Smith, David Williams, Loretta Marshall, Zane Everitt

This team worked with other departments on campus to roll out the eProcurement system.  It automates several processes that were manual paper intensive to allow purchase requests to be entered and approved electronically.  This team trains departments coming on-board with this system and currently UITS, College of Arts, College of Business, College of Education & Health Professions, and the College of Letters & Sciences have implemented ePro.  All other departments should be on the ePro system by the end of the year.

Staff Award for Collaboration – eQuest Implementation

Brandon Lindley, Barbara Psalmond, Zane Everitt

This has been a true interdepartmental collaboration effort with a cohesive and focused team that delivered a product that improved services to the CSU community.

The team spent over one year designing, training, and implementing a new work order system that resulted in a much easier and user friendly system with quicker response rates and resolution times.

Staff Award for Collaboration – Frank D. Brown Hall

James Chappel, Ed Schevey

Thank you James and Ed again on your commitment and dedication on the Frank D. Brown Hall project.  Both of them spent countless days and hours ensuring that the technology and network were 100% operational when the building opened in January 2017.  They collaborated with vendors, plant operations, campus services, and contractors to get the job done.  They even worked over the 2016 holiday season to complete the project, which showed that they are committed to CSU.

Staff Award for Efficiency – Telecommunications

Tony Harris

Tony has worked tirelessly managing the efficiency and cost savings for the telecommunications area.  His work has led to a positive cost savings for CSU.

UITS hosts the LANDesk Best Practices Conference

LANDesk Conference 2016-01-28 Photo of participants at tablesLANDesk Conference 2016-01-28 Photo of Steve Rutledge

On January 28th, 2016 UITS hosted a LANDesk Best Practices Conference.  This gathering kicked off one-of-many meetings at different locations, that the nine universities will partake in which will showcase technology and solutions which will benefit each institution.  This Bird-of-a-feather type meeting will help each university grow a vast knowledge base, increase networking, and most of all help grow a tighter bond between each other.

Three institutions presented on the following areas of interest:

  • Columbus State University – Initial LANDesk Setup and Requirements, USG It Handbook Compliance, Active Directory
  • Valdosta State University – Provisioning, Software Deployment, Remote desktop, Self Service Application
  • South Georgia State College – LANDesk Encryption

LANDesk Conference 2016-01-28 Group photo of conference attendees

The nine South Western USG universities (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Fort Valley State University, South Georgia State College, Albany State University, Bainbridge State College, Georgia Southwestern State University, Darton State College, Valdosta State University and Columbus State University) convened at CSU showcasing LANDesk and how it is used to manage current needs within the universities.