All posts by Kelsey Smith

UITS Staff Recognitions for the CSU Faculty & Staff Award Ceremony

Staff members of the UITS Department won multiple awards at the CSU Faculty and Staff Award Ceremony. The UITS Department would like to recognize and congratulate the outstanding work of the individuals who won awards at the ceremony.

Staff Award for Innovation – MyCSU

Neil Tirado, Bryce Jackson, William Fowler, Rick Tew, Nicholas Dick, Robert Gordy

MyCSU Portal went live January 1, 2017 after 2 years of design and focus groups feedback.  MyCSU has easier access to information and important notifications.  MyCSU was implemented with a new single sign-on system called OneCSU.  CSU is saving $30,000 a year with a new licensing structure that replaced the old previous portal.

Staff Award for Innovation – Ellucian Workflow

Nicholas Dick, Keith Grier

This team worked on the Change of Major Workflow that reduced the time it took students to change their major from 2 weeks to 3 days on average.

They also created the Graduate Admissions Workflow that route the forms digitally to program coordinators and directors that has dramatically cut down the time of acceptance or denial time for graduate admissions.

Staff Award for Innovation – Business Intelligence Dashboards

Stanley Jones, Adrian Wade, Richard Pike

The Executive Dashboard was developed to be used by Dr. Markwood and other executives to measure key performance metrics for enrollment and recruiting.  The data can identify trends and executives can make data driven decisions to help increase enrollment at CSU.

The Classroom Demographic Dashboard helps faculty identify student demographic background. This is helpful to faculty so they can tailor their instruction based on this data driven approach to potentially lead to higher retention rates.

The Financial Dashboard was developed with the assistance of the Office of Business and Finance.  The dashboard empowers leaders by giving them accurate and clear data about their budgets.  This data enables them to make informed budgetary decisions to support the goals of CSU.

Staff Award for Collaboration – ePro Implementation

Barbara Smith, David Williams, Loretta Marshall, Zane Everitt

This team worked with other departments on campus to roll out the eProcurement system.  It automates several processes that were manual paper intensive to allow purchase requests to be entered and approved electronically.  This team trains departments coming on-board with this system and currently UITS, College of Arts, College of Business, College of Education & Health Professions, and the College of Letters & Sciences have implemented ePro.  All other departments should be on the ePro system by the end of the year.

Staff Award for Collaboration – eQuest Implementation

Brandon Lindley, Barbara Psalmond, Zane Everitt

This has been a true interdepartmental collaboration effort with a cohesive and focused team that delivered a product that improved services to the CSU community.

The team spent over one year designing, training, and implementing a new work order system that resulted in a much easier and user friendly system with quicker response rates and resolution times.

Staff Award for Collaboration – Frank D. Brown Hall

James Chappel, Ed Schevey

Thank you James and Ed again on your commitment and dedication on the Frank D. Brown Hall project.  Both of them spent countless days and hours ensuring that the technology and network were 100% operational when the building opened in January 2017.  They collaborated with vendors, plant operations, campus services, and contractors to get the job done.  They even worked over the 2016 holiday season to complete the project, which showed that they are committed to CSU.

Staff Award for Efficiency – Telecommunications

Tony Harris

Tony has worked tirelessly managing the efficiency and cost savings for the telecommunications area.  His work has led to a positive cost savings for CSU.

TAG Columbus and WIT Present a Conversation with AFLAC and Synovus’ CIOs Julia Davis and Renee Roth

On Thursday, March 2nd the Technology Association of Georgia and Women in Technology hosted an evening of networking and conversation with the technology leaders of Columbus. Julie Haley, President of Edge and WIT’s 2015 Woman of the Year Award Winner, moderated the evening’s conversation with Columbus’ women in technology. The two panelists were Julia Davis, Senior Vice President; Chief Information Officer of AFLAC and Renee Roth, Chief Information Officer of SYNOVUS.

Students and business professionals in attendance were able to get a perspective of the challenges and issues that women in technology face from the two CIOs. The conversation was a great kickoff to Women’s History Month!

For more information about the Technology Association of Georgia’s Student Chapter, please visit our website:

TAG Society Showcase Luau

16177656_10154233224206409_7718892658457319106_o-2On January 12th the TAG Student Chapter attended the 2nd largest event that TAG hosts. The Society Showcase is a trade show of all 34 societies that make up TAG. Students from Columbus State University were able to connect with board members and learn about the many events taking place in 2017.

The TAG Student Chapter also had opportunity the to meet with current TAG President and CEO Larry Williams. Students were able to mingle with TAGs Leadership Council and network with technology companies. Over 1,000 people attend the event annually. The TAG Student Chapter was delighted to kickoff 2017 with an event learning about the 34 different societies of TAG that are shaping the future of technology.

TAG Holiday Mingle & Jingle Premier Mixer


The Columbus State University TAG Student Organization celebrated the holiday season in the comfort of athenahealth’s modern office space at the TAG Holiday Mingle and Jingle Premier Mixer. TAG Premier members got an inside look at what it’s like to work inside of Ponce City Market while networking over appetizers and drinks. The TAG team also collected Toys for Tots during the event.

Have You Received This E-Mail?


If you have received this e-mail please delete it immediately. The CSU Office of Information Security have alerted USG Shared Service Center and this is their response, “Thank you for reporting this incident.  I do believe this to be a fraudulent e-mail.  I have reported this to ADP’s Trust Center at”

For more information about spam and phishing e-mails in your inbox visit UITS Information Security Alerts